Northern Counties Cup : Rules and Regulations

1. The competition is open to all Golf Clubs of the following Counties:
Aberdeen, Banff, Caithness, Inverness, Kincardine, Moray, Nairn, Orkney & Shetland, Ross & Cromarty and Sutherland.
2. The Delegate Clubs are:
Brora Golf Club Muir of Ord Golf Club
Cruden Bay Golf Club Murcar Golf Club
Deeside Golf Club Nairn Dunbar Golf Club
Duff House Royal Golf Club Nairn Golf Club
Elgin Golf Club Orkney Golf Club
Golspie Golf Club Peterhead Golf Club
Inverness Golf Club Royal Aberdeen Golf Club
Moray Golf Club Royal Dornoch Golf Club
Tain Golf Club
3. The Delegates shall meet annually on the Wednesday before the competition.  To discuss the Competition for the year following and to consider any propositions, of which notice has been given in terms of Rule 6 and to alter or amend the Rules under which the Cup is played for.
4. The Delegates shall appoint a Secretary to keep the Minutes of their Meetings and to attend to any general business in connection with the Competition.
5. The Competition shall be held annually in September on a date to be fixed by the Secretary and the Club where the Competition is to be played. The Secretary to the delegates shall be responsible for distributing notices of the dates of play and the date on which the entries close to each Club and the Press.
6. Any Club desiring to propose a new rule, or to abolish or alter existing Rules, shall put their proposals into the form of a Resolution, this will then be discussed at the Annual general meeting of Delegates. 
Such resolutions shall not be carried except by a majority of two thirds of the Delegates voting at their meeting and there shall be at least three Delegates present and voting. Notice of such Resolutions shall be given, in writing to the Secretary at three weeks prior to the meeting, and a copy thereof at once transmitted by him to the Clubs entitled to send a delegate.
7. Clubs in the above Counties shall be entitled to send one team consisting of FOUR Home based players to represent their Club in the Annual Tournament for the Cup. In the event of 40 teams not entering in any year, Clubs may enter a second team. Should the entries exceed 40 then a ballot of the second teams will take place by the Secretary of the Delegates and the representatives of two delegate Clubs. 
Each Club will pay an entry fee for each team, this will be decided at the annual general Meeting of Delegates. Should a team be balloted out of the draw, then the entry fee will be refunded.
8. The names of each team (home based players only) to be presented to the Secretary of the Delegates at least one week prior to the competition. Team selection must be handed to the Secretary of the Delegates before starting and no team thereafter will be allowed to make any change except in the case of special circumstances. Any substitute permitted must not have played in the Club's other team entered in the Competition.
9. The Tournament shall take the form of a Competition by Foursomes, one club against another, as determined by the draw. The previous winner and runner-up will be seeded. Matches will be decided by the Club having holes to their credit on the combined result of the two matches. In the event of a tie in any round, both couples shall continue to play until the combined result of the two matches shows one Club having gained a hole.
10. The winning Club shall have the custody of the Cup for one year and shall have its name engraved on it along with the names of the four players and the venue of the Competition.
11. The Competition shall be played according to the Rules and Regulations of Golf approved by the Royal and ancient Golf Club of St Andrews and subject to any local rules of the Course on which the competition is being played.
12. A Committee consisting of the host Captain, host secretary and the secretary of the Delegates is authorised to deal with any controversial matter which might arise in the course of the competition.
13. Any Club wishing to be entitled to send a delegate can become a Delegate Club by paying an entry fee of 25.